Having your cake and being forced to spit it out


So recently I’ve been having a small meltdown —I mean, carefully and calmly considering my future and the futures of my course mates and in fact everyone facing the threshold of graduation. Here’s how that’s going:

 

So with creative media I’m entering a highly competitive field, I knew that. Cut throat, rat-race, etc., but seriously the future’s looking pretty bleak if I actually want to get to use my brain for something not mind-numbing or that I actually enjoy. What does that feel like? This:

 

 

So I got to thinking, who’s to blame for this quandary? Is it me, for being born a creative type?

 

 

Is it the world for not providing enough places for people like me to earn a living that’s above the poverty line without having to sell my soul? Or is it somewhere in between?

Now, call me ungrateful, I absolutely love my university course and I don’t think I’d have come to university to do anything else that was on offer (if you ignore that brief time I considered nursing or psychology)… BUT the thought occurs: why are there so many courses like this one? Why are so many universities churning out graduates for saturated markets? There seems to be a breakdown in logic here. If there aren’t the jobs to go to, why are there so many people being trained for the aforementioned nonexistent jobs? Surely there are fields that actually require people to work them. The answer, of course, is money. Everything comes down to money.

 

 

 

Perhaps (probably) I’m just a little chewed up that the carrot of an exciting career after uni has been dangled in front of me for three years, but now that it gets close to crunch time I can see the path becoming a very narrow iron funnel, not a great expanse of open pasture. Though in fairness no one ever said it would be easy, but I can’t help wondering does it really have to be this hard?

 

 

I had to go for 'easy' because I assure you you don't wanna know what came up when I searched for 'hard'.

 

 

I’m getting way ahead of myself here though, I have to graduate first. Plenty of work between now and then. Except that to hit the ground running when you graduate you have to do a lot of career-minded legwork while you’re still stuck in the quagmire of uni-minded brain grind. To say that this puts a little pressure on an already stretched temperament would be an understatement.

 

 

So that’s where I’m at. Less the grey hair and, regrettably, less the espresso IV.

But it’s okay, everything will be fine.

And in the meantime? There’s always retail therapy.

 

 

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.
